Mi ez a blog?

Érettségizünk Angolból: Emelt szintű angol érettségi felkészítő Lucának és Natinak

Archívum

Címkék

EXTRA 2.1: Odd baby names. Reader opinions

2009.03.11. 14:54 | kisdobos | 3 komment

Címkék: extra usage

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Task 1. Fill in the gaps with the missing phrases.

 

a.       turned down

b.       barring parents from

c.     expose them to ridicule

d.     extravagant

e.     unusual monikers

f.      voter rolls

g.     by that name

h.     subsequently

i.      have a particular penchant for

j.      registry authorities

k.     up to the discretion of

l.      crack down on

m.    putting limits on people

n.     it is no one's business except

o.     common sense

 

Venezuela Seeks to Crack Down on Odd Baby Names

September 01, 2007

 

(CARACAS, Venezuela)  Thinking of naming your baby Hersony, Nohemar — or even Superman? Such odd names might be (1)……………………………… by the civil registry if Venezuela approves a bill (2)………………………………… giving their children "names that (3)…………………………………, are (4)………………………………… or difficult to pronounce," or that raise doubts about whether a child is a girl or a boy.

 

If approved by the National Assembly, the bill could let authorities turn down names like some of the more (5)…………………………………  currently on the voter rolls: Edigaith, Mileidy, Leomar and Superman.

 

When opponents of President Hugo Chavez last year sought to question the accuracy of the (6)…………………………………, they noted that even "Superman" was listed. But electoral officials confirmed there are in fact two Venezuelans (7)………………………………… registered to vote, and one of them was (8)………………………………… interviewed on state television.

 

While unusual names appear in many countries, Venezuelans seem to (9)………………………………… going creative, whether through unusual spellings of English names like Maikel or Jhonny, or names of uncertain origin like Orlayny or Jesshy.

 

Current Venezuelan law already has a similar measure saying (10) )………………………………… should not accept names that would expose children to ridicule. But the issue has until now been left (11)………………………………… individual bureaucrats.

 

The new bill proposes to create a list of traditional names that could be offered to parents "as a reference" to provide options when they are registering their child's birth. It says the list would have "no fewer than 100 names" and would grow over time.

 

Some Venezuelans think it makes sense to (12)………………………………… odd baby names. "I agree with (13)………………………………… who don't have a sense of the ridiculousness," said 58-year-old office worker Alfredo Blanco. But 27-year-old housewife Mariana Gonzalez said she thinks (14)………………………………… except the parents how they choose to name a child. "Before all else should come (15) …………………………………."

 

Exercises created by Kisdobos using http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,295488,00.html

 

 

Task 2. Choose the correct alternative.

 

Reader opinions

 

“My name is Chris Morley. It's just about the (1) most common/commonest name in Britain and I've got no problem with it (2) of any kind/whatsoever. In fact I like it. Who do these people think they are, afflicting other human beings (3) for/with ridiculous names that are almost certainly going to open them up to (4) ridicule/ridiculous and, at worst, (5) bullied/bullying? True parents, loving parents, try to give their offspring the best start in life. Instead these selfish idiots - who either find such names funny or who are so (6) desperate/desperado to gain attention that they are willing to use their children as a tool - are socially (7) handicapping/handkerchiefing their children from the very moment of birth.”

Chris Morley, Oxford, UK

 

“(8)Funny the number of people/funny how many people who when hearing my name for the first time still think they're the first to (9) come off with/come up with the 'How's Liz' gag! Been happening for best part of 50 years now!!”

Richard Burton, London

 

“I have been (10) teased mercilessly/torn mercilessly from childhood to my adult years. You won't believe the amount of times people have (11) burst out to laugh/burst out laughing right in my face when they ask my name.”

Craig Gogay, London, UK

 

“My name is relatively unusual but it has not caused me any problems in life - apart from the frustration caused by the (12) constant misspelling/constant misspell of Laslo. I have been called ‘Lasio’, ‘Lazlo’ and one time ‘Lazio’.”

Laslo Panaflex, Belgium

 

“Being called Slick has its advantages and disadvantages but I get along just fine, in fact I've learned to love my name.”

Slick Bryn Davies, Manchester

 

“My name has been a source of angst my entire life. To this day I have to (13) repeat up nauseum/repeat ad nauseum; often times spelling my name, (14) in a future effort/in a futile effort to have it pronounced correctly. Sadly my middle name is no better and I was left with no choices in school. I was bullied, (15) ridiculed/made ridiculous and (16) mockeried/mocked and to this day supposedly mature adults still (17) have a snack/snicker at my expense. I approve (18) wholeheartily/wholeheartedly of the New Zealand law that offers some recourse to children so benighted. Naming your child is (19) not an exorcist/exercise in creative writing or an (20)  avenue/road for personal expression; if you want that take a class or write a book. The psychological effects of an odd name are painful, deep and lasting.”

Kurleigh Martin, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago

 

“My sister (Che) and I both have unusual names and we love them! It's nice to be unique in your school/college or place of work. It can also be an (21) ice-melter/ice-breaker when meeting new people. Lots of people comment favourably about my name and I've never been bullied as a consequence of it.”

Chula Bishop, Newbury England

 

“My name is Varithamby Jeyahprakash Tharamakulaseelarajan my brother's name is Sathiyasothilegaeswaran Thramakulaseelerajan, we still (22) strangle/struggle to fill-in legal forms because they never have enough space. Parents do not think long term when naming their children specially in South Asia. I think they should be given lessons in naming their offsprings.”

J Rajan, Colombo Sri Lanka

 

“No-one ever considered that the child might like the (23) quirkiness/weirdoness of their name. Nothing has ever held back my development or progress in the world. I'm now working in the catering trade and everyone calls me Eggy. I don't see the problem!”

Egnorwiddle Waldstrom , London, UK

 

This is not to say there is anything wrong with being creative or unique when selecting that perfect name, but perhaps you can come to a compromise of something between the odd baby names and ordinary ones. Spend some time speaking some of the names you THINK you like. How do the names flow with your last name? Is the name something that can easily be (24) turned into/turned down a joke? That is not something you want for your very special baby. The most important thing to remember when choosing a name for your baby, is that it will (25) define/defining this child in life. Be different and unique if you must. But always keep the future of your child in mind.”

 

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://erettsegizunk.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr98995984

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

kisdobos 2009.03.11. 15:04:47

SOLUTIONS

Task 1. Venezuela cracks down on baby names

1. most common
2. whatsoever
3. afflicting other human beings with ridiculous names
4. open them up to ridicule
5. and, at worst, bullying
6. desperate to gain attention
7. socially handicapping their children
8. Funny the number of people who …
9. The first come up with the 'How's Liz' gag
10. I have been teased mercilessly
11. burst out laughing right in my face
12. the constant misspelling of Laslo
13. I have to repeat ad nauseum
14. in a futile effort to have it pronounced correctly
15. I was bullied, ridiculed
16. and mocked
17. mature adults still have a snicker at my expense
18. I approve wholeheartedly of the New Zealand law
19. Naming your child is not an exercise in creative writing
20. or an avenue for personal expression
21. ice-breaker
22. struggle to fill-in legal forms
23. the quirkiness of their name
24. can easily be turned into a joke
25. define this child in life


Task 2.
READER OPINIONS

“My name is Chris Morley. It's just about the (1) most common name in Britain and I've got no problem with it (2) whatsoever. In fact I like it. Who do these people think they are, afflicting other human beings (3) with ridiculous names that are almost certainly going to open them up to (4) ridicule and, at worst, (5) bullying? True parents, loving parents, try to give their offspring the best start in life. Instead these selfish idiots - who either find such names funny or who are so (6) desperate to gain attention that they are willing to use their children as a tool - are socially (7) handicapping their children from the very moment of birth.”
Chris Morley, Oxford, UK

“(8)Funny the number of people who when hearing my name for the first time still think they're the first to (9) come up with the 'How's Liz' gag! Been happening for best part of 50 years now!!”
Richard Burton, London

“I have been (10) teased mercilessly from childhood to my adult years. You won't believe the amount of times people have (11) burst out laughing right in my face when they ask my name.”
Craig Gogay, London, UK

“My name is relatively unusual but it has not caused me any problems in life - apart from the frustration caused by the (12) constant misspelling of Laslo. I have been called ‘Lasio’, ‘Lazlo’ and one time ‘Lazio’.”
Laslo Panaflex, Belgium

“Being called Slick has its advantages and disadvantages but I get along just fine, in fact I've learned to love my name.”
Slick Bryn Davies, Manchester

“My name has been a source of angst my entire life. To this day I have to (13) repeat ad nauseum; often times spelling my name, (14) in a futile effort to have it pronounced correctly. Sadly my middle name is no better and I was left with no choices in school. I was bullied, (15) ridiculed/made ridiculous and (16) mocked and to this day supposedly mature adults still (17) have a snicker at my expense. I approve (18) wholeheartedly of the New Zealand law that offers some recourse to children so benighted. Naming your child is (19) not an exercise in creative writing or an (20) avenue for personal expression; if you want that take a class or write a book. The psychological effects of an odd name are painful, deep and lasting.”
Kurleigh Martin, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago

“My sister (Che) and I both have unusual names and we love them! It's nice to be unique in your school/college or place of work. It can also be an (21) ice-breaker when meeting new people. Lots of people comment favourably about my name and I've never been bullied as a consequence of it.”
Chula Bishop, Newbury England

“My name is Varithamby Jeyahprakash Tharamakulaseelarajan my brother's name is Sathiyasothilegaeswaran Thramakulaseelerajan, we still (22) struggle to fill-in legal forms because they never have enough space. Parents do not think long term when naming their children specially in South Asia. I think they should be given lessons in naming their offsprings.”
J Rajan, Colombo Sri Lanka

“No-one ever considered that the child might like the (23) quirkiness of their name. Nothing has ever held back my development or progress in the world. I'm now working in the catering trade and everyone calls me Eggy. I don't see the problem!”
Egnorwiddle Waldstrom , London, UK

“This is not to say there is anything wrong with being creative or unique when selecting that perfect name, but perhaps you can come to a compromise of something between the odd baby names and ordinary ones. Spend some time speaking some of the names you THINK you like. How do the names flow with your last name? Is the name something that can easily be (24) turned into a joke? That is not something you want for your very special baby. The most important thing to remember when choosing a name for your baby, is that it will (25) define this child in life. Be different and unique if you must. But always keep the future of your child in mind.”

luckhu 2011.02.22. 07:02:38

Your article was good, ah, I love it. Hope to have more words www.pandorabeadsjewellerymall.com/ for us to read! I wish you all the best! !

luckhu 2011.03.16. 06:39:45

Thanks. I had overlooked that box www.elinkslondons.net/links-of-london-necklaces.html above the quickfix list. I'm going to give it a try.
süti beállítások módosítása